Christmas Panick

It’s the time of the year when we start talking about presents… expecially as two of our children have their birthdays in November, so by the time we’re done with presents and partyplans etc, it’s nearly time for advent calendars and all the christmas stress fun to begin. Every year I decide to give really personal gifts and preferably make most of them myself as well as remember to post a family letter with all the cards that I’ll send out in the beginning of the month (!) erm, usually I fail at most of the above and we end up staying up late on the last day of November wrapping a gazillion little advent calendar gifts, the christmas cards are sent out AFTER christmas and the family christmas letter ends up being a family new years letter and only gets sent out to half of the family, as I never get around to translating it (half the family is Danish and half is English). This year I’m planning on being slightly less ambitious in an attempt to make failure a little less likely! I do want to send out cards, but I think they’ll be done as a family home evening activity in November and there will be no christmas family letter, but just possibly a post on the family blog (a rare occurance in itself!) around that time. Advent calendars will be just that…  four presents for each child -one each on the four Sundays of advent rather than  72 smaller ones! (Just thinking about finding and wrapping that many makes my palms sweaty!)

As for the christmas presents, I still like the idea of making a few myself. There are some really good ideas around on the internet. Here’s one by Jesicca from Running with scissors that I really like (and which my boys would love):

The tutorial is here on Tatertots and jello. Aren’t they cute?!

Leave a Reply

