Dress Design for Shabby Apple Dresses

Right, so here goes (drumroll, please) Here’s my entry for the Shabby Apple Dare to Design contest.
The really good thing was, that you can enter as many designs as you please which, given my indecisive nature, made things easier. So actually I am entering four and here they are:
 
 
 
I envision this in a nice cotton, which would be cool for S/S and would keep the tulip shape of the shirt nicely.
My inspiration for this dress took it’s starting point in 1950’s fashions with nipped-in waistlines, matching belts and feminine and curvy silhuettes.
 This dress also has little tabs at the neckline with a red spherical button to each tab. 
 
The next dress, also took it’s inspiration in the 1950’s as well as the super popular A/W 2010 Luis Vuitton collection, which takes the 1950’s silhuette, with the corsetted tops, belted waists and full, calf-length skirts up to date in wools, leathers and prints.
This dress would be in a summer suit fabric, either slightly textured (linen?) or discreetly patterned.
The waist band would be cut across the grainline and the waistband has decoration in the shape of stylised bows made of one length of the same fabric as the rest of the dress. (I made a very quick sample.) 
 
The third dress, I think would be nicest in a silky fabric and is inspired by a 1970’s pattern I’ve inherited from an elderly friend who recently moved and kindly let me rummage through the things she was getting rid of. I really think the 70’s are going to be a major trend. (Just look at all the trendy men wearing turtle neck jumpers under their suits again!)

 

And finally, I just had to design something with a peter pan collar. This one has the addition of a bow and a red button. The skirt has two big pleast to either side and narrows towards the hem and so has to have a slit to the back. 
(Click on images if you want to see a bigger picture)
So there it is! I can’t wait to see all the other designs people come up with. I already love browsing though the Shabby Apple website. I am a sucker for beautiful and modest dresses, it’s nice when people recognise that an outfit can be both! And have a look at their blog too, lots of good tips and interesting guest bloggers!
3 responses to “Dress Design for Shabby Apple Dresses

  1. Hey I entered this too! Who’d of thought I’d run into another entry. 🙂 I love your designs by the way. Especially the gray 1950s style one. I’d totally wear it!

  2. K my name is not xoxo.. haha no idea why it was set as that for my last comment.

  3. Thank you:-) I really like yours too, I tried to pick a favourite, but just ended up deciding I liked them equally! Both are very much in keeping with Shabby Apple’s style.

Leave a Reply

