Oh the junk I bring home!

I said I was going to post some of my little projects on here, but never really got around to it… Well on Wednesday my lovely husband got up incredibly early and caught a bus to work (seriously his bus left around 6 am!) so that I could have the car. My treat, when I have the car, is to go to one or two charity shops and have a good old rummage through the smelly furniture (those places really smell, don’t they!) I took my daughter along this last time and she particularly loved the fact that our neighbouring village, where the charity shop is, is called Helved. In Danish that is pronounced in exactly the same way (and nearly spelled in the same way too) as the Danish word for hell.

 I don’t know why the village has been named this way, but my daughter found it hilarious that we had “gone to hell” for a shop:-)

Anyway, the people working there are so sweet and if there’s anything in particular you’re after and they don’t have it, they’ll take your details down and send you a text if / when they get it in.

We bought this table and the chairs.

Our house was built in the sixties and so we’re tried to furnish it in a style that complements it, hence quite retro. The kitchen was dark wood, but I’ve painted all the cabinets white and added some retro black and white IKEA knobs and I’d quite like to paint the table and chairs some fun candy colours. The other day I looked around our living room and realised that we in fact do not own a single piece of furniture in there that we bought from new -well unless you count the lamp that we bargained with the IKEA guy over and got at a reduced price:-)

I also got these shoes for 10 dkr (about one UK pound) and I want to give them a bit of a make-over, inspired by Grosgrain’s cute shoe sugar ideas.

 

Another project I’m working on these days is a 50 style dress inspired by this vintage pattern that an elderly friend let me have, when she moved house.

 The top will be simpler and I’m using the blue and white polka dot fabric. The belt is also thrifted. (sometimes I think I was born in the wrong century, I love those feminine waisted dresses!)

The final project I’m working on at the moment is some illustrations I’m doing for Lua Nova. I read about the project on Barefoot in the kitchen (great blog) and I’m so excited to be doing these (although I’m working much too slowly on these). I’ll post a couple of them on here when they’re all done.

I would love to hear about some of your upcycled projects!

Have a great nearly-weekend;-)

4 responses to “Oh the junk I bring home!

  1. I love charity shops! you can get cheap furniture and fix it up however you like and if you messed up then at least you didn’t spend much on it in the first place:) oh and I love all that shoe candy!

  2. Pingback: 1950′s Polkadots | Wendyondesign's Blog

  3. Pingback: My Flirt With Crosshatching | Wendyondesign's Blog

  4. Pingback: Candy Coloured Furniture | Wendyondesign's Blog

Leave a Reply

