My Fondant Recipe and a Little Boy’s Blue Elephant

It was my baby’s first birthday today, which I guess in reality means he is no longer my “baby” (sigh).

Anyway, I made him this cake with two of his favourite things on: his dummy and his blue elephant (without which he will not go to sleep.)

Here in Danmark, you can’t buy ready to roll icing or fondant and because I’ve had to, I’ve found out that it is very simple to make. I’ve been asked for the recipe here many times, so I thought I’d post it on here.

All I do is mix:

  • one 500g pack icing sugar (flormelis:-b),
  • One tub pasteurised egg white (1,5 whites) and
  • 3 tablespoons liquid glycose (this can be bought in the pharmacy or cheaper and in the form of a more liquid syrup from Brugsen)

I put everything in my food proccessor (mainly because I don’t have a blender), but be a bit cautious if your food proccessor is cheap and flimsy. My first one was and this broke it! Alternatively just mix it with your hands. You’ll need to knead it by hand anyway.

When you’ve done this, you can colour it using food colouring and it’ll now be just like plastacine, so have fun!

Leave a Reply

