1950’s Polkadots

It’s been finished for a while, but I only just got around to taling pictures of my 1950’s inspired dress. Remember, the one with the thrifted belt I talked about here.

It has a side zip (made with my fantastic invisible zip foot) and so no zips in the back. I was pretty anxious to see whether I’d be able to get into it as it’s quite fitted at the top, but luckily with all the width in the skirt, it works, phew:-)

It was very simply drafted. The top is basically the basic block and then I used three big rectangles for the skirt. The back neckline is slightly lower than the front.

I am so fed up with all this snow and freezing cold whether here. The weather reporters keep enthusing about new record low temps. So I put myself in a greener and warmer place on the picture (much cheaper than airline tickets for the five of us!). I realise it’s not that well photoshopped, but you get the idea:-)  -Oh well, hopefully Spring will find us one of these days…

4 responses to “1950’s Polkadots

  1. Great dress! I’d love to see more pictures of the finished dress, like the back side!

  2. Thanks Emily:-) I’ll put some on here later then:-)
    By the way, I tried posting a comment on your blog, but it doesn’t seem to work… But I love your new “please remove your shoes” sign:-) so cute.

  3. WOW!!! Den ser rigtig flot ud…..og jeg vil gerne med ud i dit “gronne” billed. Kan du ikke male et Mary Poppins billed til os vi kan hoppe ind i?

  4. Tark:-) Uh, jo det lyder godt…

Leave a Reply

